HEE NW School Logo Core Training Locations Level 1 Training Locations Level 2 Training Locations

Hospital Placements


Hospital placements are usually for six months. During the first three years of training, placements are made on a fixed schedule to provide a balance of time in different hospitals and to ensure sufficient experience to gain core competency. For new ST1 recruits  the programme is divided into three geographical sectors with new trainees largely remaining in one sector for the duration of their training. The sectors are listed below and illustrated on the map. Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital, The Christie Hospital and the neuroradiology departments at Salford Royal Hospital and Royal Preston Hospital provide specific sub-specialty training and and are not included in the sector organisation

















After this trainees are able to elect to train in specific sub-specialties at chosen locations to train to levels 1 and 2, which are defined in the RCR curriculum. Each year ST 3, ST 4 and ST 5 trainees are asked to express their wishes for further training according to sub-specialty and location. Training opportunities in different hospital departments can be viewed by clicking on the buttons above.


The hospital placements committee, chaired by the Training Programme Director, meets in the following spring to consider the requests and make placements for August, taking into account the available training places and opportunities. In some sub-specialties, in particular, neuroradiology and paediatrics, there are limited training vacancies. Assessment of previous performance in training and examinations, and if necessary, competitive interview will be used to select trainees for these placements if they are oversubscribed.


Placement Process Sector Map

East Sector

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Trust (Manchester Royal Infirmary)

Pennine Acute Hospitals NHS Trust (North Manchester General Hospital)

Stockport NHS Trust (Stepping Hill Hospital)

East Cheshire NHS Trust (Macclesfield District General Hospital)


West Sector

Salford Royal Hospital NHS Trust

Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh NHS Trust (Royal Albert Edward Infirmary, Wigan)

Bolton NHS Trust (Royal Bolton Hospital)

South Manchester University Hospital NHS Trust (Wythenshawe Hospital)


Lancashire Sector

Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust (Royal Preston Hospital)

University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay NHS Trust (Lancaster Royal Hospital)

East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust (Royal Blackburn Hospital)

Blackpool, Fylde and Wyre NHS Trust (Blackpool Victoria Hospital)